

The 38th Annual ELECTRONIC MATERIALS SYMPOSIUM

Friday, April 16, 2010, Network Meeting Center at Techmart 5201 Great America Parkway, Santa Clara, California

Register (\$100, \$50 students) at www.electronicmaterialssymposium.org

All presentations in the Silicon Valley room figure from FEI and Joerg Jinschek



8:30 AM Opening - Prof. Todd Weatherford, 2010 EMS Chair

8:35 AM Dr. Markus Beck, First Solar, "The Landscape of Photovoltaics - How today's mature technologies enable tomorrow's energy security"

9:20 AM Prof. Roger Falcone, UCB/LBNL "A New Generation of X-Ray Lasers for Science and Technology"

10: 05AM Refreshments - Exhibits and Posters, Morgan Hill Room

10:45 AM Prof. Alexis Bell, UCB Dept of Chemical Engr. "Catalysts – Key materials for Producing Fuels and Chemicals"

11:40 AM Prof. Steven Quake, Stanford Dept of Bioengineering,

"Precision Measurement in Biology"

12:15 PM Lunch (Renaissance Room)

1:05 PM Luncheon Presentation - Dr. Lewis Terman, IBM, "The IEEE at 126"

2:15 PM Dr. Joerg Jinschek, FEI, "Advanced S/TEM research: Atomic-scale Characterization of Applied Nanostructures"

3:00 PM Dr. Tom Albrecht, Hitachi Global Storage Tech., San Jose Res. Center, *"Nanopatterned Magnetic Recording Media"*

3:45 PM Refreshments - Exhibits and Posters, Morgan Hill Room

4:30 PM Student Award Presentations

5:00 PM Closing – Dr. Ning Cheng 2011 EMS Chair

1st EMS Student Poster Session – 2010 – Morgan Hill Room

"Growth of textured polycrystalline Ge thin films on glass substrates for photovoltaics", Shu Hu, P. C. McIntyre, *Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, Geballe Lab. for Adv. Mat., Stanford University*

"Influence of aluminum microstructure on aluminum induced crystallization (AIC) of sputtered amorphous silicon thin film", Amirhossein Khalajhedayati, E. Allen, *Chemical and Materials Engineering Dept., San Jose State University*

"Strain relaxation mechanisms in compressively-strained SiGe-on-insulator (SGOI) films grown by Si selective oxidation" Marika Gunji, A. F. Marshall, and P. C. McIntyre Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Geballe Lab. for Adv. Mat., Stanford University

"Electrical, electrothermal, and optical properties of n- and p-type InN", Nate Miller, J.W. Ager, H. M Smith, M. A. Mayer, K. M. Yu, M. E. Hawkridge, E. E. Haller, W. Walukiewicz, W. J. Schaff, C. Gallinat, G. Koblmuller, and J. S. Speck, *LBNL, Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, UC Berkeley, Dept. of ECE, Cornell University, Materials Dept., UC Santa Barbara*

"Manipulating the Easy Axis in Ga_{1-x}Mn_xP: Magnetic Anisotropy in an Insulating Ferromagnetic Semiconductor"

Peter R. Stone, C. Bihler, L. Dreher, J. W. Beeman, K. M. Yu, M. S. Brandt, O. D. Dubon *Dept.* of Materials Science & Engineering, UC Berkeley, LBNL, Walter Schottky Institut, Technische Universität München, Germany

"Domain Wall Injection in Racetrack Memory" Timothy Phung, *Stanford University* **"Nano-composite metal/TiO2/Si anodes for water oxidation"** Yi Wei Chen, J. Prange, S. Duehnen, B. Shin, Y. Park, M. Shandalov, C. E. Chidsey, and P. C. McIntyre, *Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, Stanford University, Dept of Chemistry, Stanford University*

"Imaging Charge Transport in Nanowires with Near Field Scanning Microscopy" R. Adam Cole, L. Baird and N. M. Haegel, *Physics Dept., Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey*

"In situ TEM study of electrical switching in lateral phase-change memory cells" Stefan Meister, J. Cha, Y. Cui, *Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Stanford University*

"Fabrication of MEMS-based Directional Sound Sensor on SOI Substrate", Michael Touse, J. Sinibaldi and G. Karunasiri *Dept. of Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey*

"Cathodoluminescent Lighting Based on Carbon Nanotube Field Emitters" Jovita Tjahjadi, B. Ribaya, J. Silan, D. Niemann, S. Yim, E. Allen, C. V. Nguyen, *San Jose State University, NASA Ames Research Center*

"Science-based modeling of carbon nanotube ultracapacitor" Antonis Orphanou, T. Yamada, and C. Y. Yang, Center for Nanostructures, Santa Clara University

"Design of high-absorption Terahertz films"Christos Bolakis, D. Grbovic, and G. Karunasiri *Dept of Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey*

"A Terahertz Reverse Micromagnetron", Michael Aiena, M. Güner, and A. Larraza, *Dept. of Physics, Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey*